MLOps

DevOps was widely adopted in the past decade for developing, testing, deploying, and operating large-scale conventional software systems. With DevOps, development cycles became shorter, deployment speed increased, and system releases became auditable and dependable.

Moreover, with the advances made in the past few years in ML and AI, Machine Learning (ML) has revolutionized the world of computers by allowing them to learn as they progress forward with large datasets. Thus, mitigating many previous programming pitfalls and creating new possibilities/use-cases that conventional programming cannot resolve. Unfortunately, applying DevOps principles directly to Machine learning development is not possible. Because unlike DevOps where the final product is solely dependent on code.

ML development is code and data dependent. Moreover, ML models’ development is experimental in nature and has more components that are significantly more complex to build and operate. It is worthy to note that the time spent writing ML code is Approx. 30% of the data scientists’ time, the rest is data analysis, feature engineering, experimenting with different hyperparameters, utilizing remote hardware to run multiple experiments in parallel, experiment tracking, model serving, and many more.

Hidden Technical Debt

Hidden Technical Debt

Quelle: https://neptune.ai/blog/mlops

What is MLOps?

That brings us to MLOps. It was founded at the intersection of DevOps and Machine Learning. Therefore, MLOps is modeled after DevOps. However, it adds data scientists and machine learning engineers to the team. Machine learning operations intend to automate as much as possible, from data sourcing to model monitoring and model re-training.

MLOps abstracts the complex infrastructure (bare metal, virtualized cloud, container orchestration) with diverse hardware (CPU, GPU, TPU) and diverse environment needs – libs, frameworks and provides a set of interoperable tools that accelerates ML Model development in all its phases.

A brief intro into the key phases of MLOps

 

Phase 1: Data gathering and analysis

Data gathering is about selecting and integrating relevant data from various data sources, these sources can be databases, data stores, object storage, or streaming data.

Data analysis is about performing exploratory data analysis to understand the available data for building the ML model.

This process leads to the following:

Understanding the data schema and characteristics that are expected by the model.
Identifying the data preparation and feature engineering that are needed for the model.

Phase 2: Data Labeling

In machine learning, data labeling is the process of identifying raw data (images, text files, audio, videos, etc.) and adding one or more meaningful labels to provide context so that a machine learning model can learn from it. For example, labels might indicate whether a photo contains a cat or car, which words were uttered in an audio recording, or if an x-ray contains a tumor. Data labeling is required for a variety of use cases including computer vision, natural language processing, and speech recognition.

Phase 3: Model training, development, and validation

ML models can be trained via multiple open-source programming libraries. Moreover, training such models usually requires GPU resources that are not easy to share across multiple teams. Therefore, MLOps offers a way to share the GPU resources, a flexible development environment that allows each data scientist to choose his own set of libraries and tools, and since building ML Models is an iterative and experimental process, it offers a way to train multiple models in a parallel/distributed fashion. Finally, it makes sure that the evaluation metrics from each trained model are saved for comparison, and that all the trained models are versioned and available for usage.

Phase 4: Model serving

Deployment of machine learning models, or simply, putting models into production, means making the models available to other systems within the organization or the over the internet, so that they can receive streams of data and return predictions.

How the models are deployed into production is what separates an academic ML development from an investment in ML that is value-generating for the business. At scale, this becomes painfully complex. Therefore, an MLOps platform offers a way to serve/deploy ML models so that they can reach the end user faster.

Phase 5: Model monitoring and re-training

In terms of monitoring our application, we might be worried about system metrics, error rates, traffic volume, app loading times, infrastructure (server counts, load, CPU/GPU usage), things like that. our application scales to a lot of users, and it works as intended and solves the problem it was built to solve. That’s conventional software. But with machine learning it is a bit different. We monitor our models for data distribution changes, training-serving skew, model/concept drift, and outliers. Therefore, a monitoring software is an integral part of an MLOps platform, and it accounts for the external variability that is enforced on our model by the data generated in the real world and it ensures that our models are behaving as they should.

Taking the next step with evoila and MLOps

If you would like to learn more about MLOps, please contact us. In a no-obligation conversation, we will be happy to determine with you how MLOps can improve your development.

MLOps

In den vergangenen zehn Jahren hat sich DevOps in Entwicklung, Testen, Bereitstellung und Betrieb von großen konventionellen Softwaresystemen etabliert. DevOps hat die Entwicklungszyklen beschleunigt, die Bereitstellungsdauer verkürzt und Produktivsysteme wartbar und verlässlich gemacht.

KI und besonders Machine Learning (ML) Anwendungen haben die IT-Welt in den letzten Jahren revolutioniert, indem sie es Computern ermöglichten, aus riesigen Datensets zu lernen. Dadurch konnten Aufgaben gelöst werden, an denen klassische Programme scheiterten und häufige Problem umgangen werden.

Leider können DevOps Prinzipien nicht unmittelbar auf die Entwicklung von ML-Modellen angewendet werden. Dies liegt daran, dass klassische Software rein abhängig vom entwickelten Programmcode ist. ML-Modellen dagegen sind abhängig von den verwendeten Daten. Die verwendeten Konzepte und Einstellungen werden experimentell ausgewählt und optimiert. Dadurch ist die Entwicklung der einzelnen Komponenten deutlich komplexer als in der klassischen Softwareentwicklung. Lediglich etwa 30 % der Entwicklungszeit werden für Implementation verwendet. Der restliche Aufwand liegt in Datenanalyse und Vorbereitung, Experimente mit Konfigurationen, Einsatz von remote Hardware zur parallelen Ausführung mehrerer Experimente, Auswertung der Experimente, Bereitstellung der Modelle und vieles mehr.

Hidden Technical Debt

Abb.1: Komponenten der ML-Entwicklung

Quelle: https://neptune.ai/blog/mlops

Was ist MLOps?

MLOps stellt die an Machine Learning angepassten DevOps Prinzipien dar. Das Ziel ist es, den größtmöglichen Grad an Automation zu erreichen. Durch wiederverwendbare Strukturen und Prozesse können sich die Data Scientists und Data Engineers auf die projektspezifischen Aufgaben konzentrieren. Das automatische Sammeln von Daten, sowie das Monitoring und Aktualisieren der aktiven Modelle vereinfacht die Entwicklung und Wartung von Anwendungen im Betrieb.

MLOps abstrahiert komplexe Infrastruktur (bare metal, Cloud, Virtualisierung, Server-Cluster) mit vielfältiger Hardware (CPU, GPU, TPU) und stellt die Ressourcen zentral bereit.
Es vereinheitlicht den Entwicklungsprozess, ohne die Auswahl der verwendbaren Frameworks und Bibliotheken einzuschränken. Durch die Verbindung einer Vielzahl von Tools wird die Entwicklung in allen Phasen deutlich beschleunigt und optimiert.

Schlüsselphasen von MLOps

 

Phase 1: Datensammlung und Analyse

Relevante Daten werden mit Pipelines aus verschiedensten Datenquellen extrahiert, aufbereitet und zentral gesammelt. Quellen können unter anderem Datenbanken, Objektspeicher oder Streams sein.

In der Analyse werden die Daten statistisch ausgewertet und erforscht, um die wichtigen Zusammenhänge zu erkennen, die für die Entwicklung eines guten ML Modells wichtig sind.

Ziele der Phase sind:

Definieren des Datenschemas und der Ausprägungen, die das Modell verarbeiten kann.
Identifizieren der notwendigen Vorbereitungen und Transformationen vor Eingabe der Daten in das Modell.

Phase 2: Daten Labeln

Beim Labeln werden Beispieldatensätze entsprechend der zu lösenden Aufgabe von Menschen erzeugt, mit denen die Modelle die Interpretation erlernen. Ein oder mehrere Label geben, an welche Antwort korrekt für den entsprechenden Datensatz ist. Zum Beispiel, dass ein Bild eine Katze oder ein Auto zeigt, welche Worte in einer Tonaufzeichnung gesprochen wurden oder ob ein Röntgenbild einen Tumor enthält. Daten müssen für eine große Bandbreite an Anwendungsfällen gelabelt werden, zum Beispiel Bilderkennung, Verarbeitung von natürlicher Sprache und Spracherkennung.

Phase 3: Das Modell entwickeln, trainieren und validieren

Es existieren einige Open-Source Frameworks, mit denen Machine Learning Modelle entwickelt werden können. Das Training der Modelle kann stark durch die Nutzung von GPU-Ressourcen beschleunigt werden, die nicht ohne Weiteres gemeinsam von mehreren Teams effizient genutzt werden können. MLOps ermöglicht es Teams, die gleichen Hardwareressourcen zu verwenden, wodurch eine gleichmäßigere Auslastung erreicht wird. Die Data Sicentists können flexibel ihre bevorzugten Tools und Bibliotheken für ihre Experimente einsetzen und mehrere Modelle gleichzeitig und verteilt auf der zentralisierten Hardware trainieren. Die erzeugten Modelle und Messwerte werden gespeichert und können später verglichen und genutzt werden.

Phase 4: Bereitstellung des Modells

Durch die Bereitstellung, oder die Überführung ins Produkivsystems, wird das Modell für die Öffentlichkeit oder Intern zugänglich gemacht. Anwendungen, die Daten an das Modell senden, erhalten eine Schätzung als Antwort.

Die Bereitstellung unterscheidet ein akademisches Experiment von einem ML Investment, das ein Businessvalue erzeugt. Besonders bei der Skalierung für Anwendungen mit vielen Nutzern steigt die Komplexität enorm. MLOps reduziert die Komplexität und sorgt für ein einfachere und schnellere Veröffentlichung von Modellen.

Phase 5: Überwachung und Aktualisierung

Um die Qualität der Anwendung zu sichern, werden dauerhaft Messwerte überwacht. Dazu zählen die Systemauslastung, Fehlerraten, Traffic, Berechnungsdauern und Auslastung der Infrastruktur. So kann gewährleistet werden, dass die Anwendung sich an Bedarf anpasst und eine gleichbleibende Nutzererfahrung bietet. Zusätzlich zu diesen klassischen DevOps-Anforderungen muss die Verteilung der Daten, Extremwerte, starke Abweichungen zu den Trainingsdaten und die Genauigkeit überwacht werden. Deswegen ist eine zusätzliche Monitoring Software integraler Bestandteil einer MLOps Plattform. Entscheidende Änderungen in der Außenwelt werden frühzeitig erkannt und gemeldet, bevor ein großer Schaden entstehen kann.

Mit evoila und MLOps den nächsten Schritt gehen

Wenn Sie mehr über MLOps erfahren möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte. In einem unverbindlichen Gespräch ermitteln wir gerne mit Ihnen, wie MLOps Ihre Entwicklung verbessern kann.